jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Loss and Gain

4 Comments

The sewing machine I’ve been using for the last year belonged to my husband’s late wife, and had been held ‘in trust’ for my step-daughter. Recently she asked if she could have it, as she has developed an interest in sewing. Kelly N., I look forward to seeing your first creations. 🙂

Although sad to lose the machine – as I still have a way to go on my first quilt top, and a number of other projects in mind – I had only myself to blame for not making more progress on the quilt over the last few months.

Bernina sewing machine

‘The Old’ – Bernina 830

What I didn’t know at the time was that a lovely new machine was in store for me. When we knew the Bernina was going to a new home we started looking for a likely replacement, starting with the local Spotlight store and Bernina dealer, doing some research online and finally checking out a number of different makes & models at the Quilt & Craft Show in Hamilton last weekend. An interesting process during which we learnt what accessories we wanted / needed for quilting and decided what the budget would allow. We made an order at the show on Friday and collected the machine from our local Brother dealer the following Tuesday afternoon.

For the benefit of quilters reading this, it comes complete with a number of quilting-related presser feet, including a 1/4″ foot for piecing and a walking foot for machine quilting. It also has some ‘luxury’ (to me!) features such as automatic needle threading and automatic thread trimming, not to mention multiple embroidery stitches most of which I may never use. I feel very spoilt!

Brother sewing machine

‘The New’ – Brother NV 600

What’s that saying about needing to let go of something to receive something better ?! Now I just have to learn how to drive it…  hence the Operation Manual in this photo. 😉

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

4 thoughts on “Loss and Gain

  1. I just got a new Bernina. It is replacing my Bernina Record 730 that was my mothers. Well replacing is a harsh word… the 1965 Bernina is still up and running, just not my main machine. These new machines (the Berninas and the Brothers and other brands) have SO much on them. The computerization is pretty amazing. I’m not sure I’ll be able to figure it all out to use it. I did take the classes which was funny. I have been sewing over 45 years and to take a class on how to run a machine was kind of funny. But OH SO necessary. If Brother offers classes take them! I learned so much about my machine that I would have never known otherwise.

    Happy sewing.

    • Thanks msh for your comment! I had a scroll through some of your blog and found it interesting – well done on posting so frequently.
      I just started sewing again last year (when I began this quilt project) after not touching a sewing machine for 30yrs or so. I needed a lesson to remind me of the basics then, and this machine is much more sophisticated. So far I’ve just done a little straight sewing with it. There is a free half hour class offered which I can schedule anytime – the Brother people recommended I get to know the machine a bit first, so I can make the best use of the free tutorial. Meanwhile the operation manual will be a good friend.
      What do you like to sew?

      • lol. Interesting is not what I’d call my blog. It’s taken a lot of turns in the years I’ve been doing it. I did decide to attempt to blog every day in 2013, which accounts for the regularity. Some days are interesting. Some days are rather boring. I guess it’s real life.

        I sew a lot of things. Mostly clothing though. I used to sew ALL my clothes but I don’t do that much anymore for myself. I sew for grandchildren and kids. Right now I’m doing a victorian costume for a friend’s daughter. We are bartering… my sewing skills for her doing family photography for us (she will have a challenge of getting 20 people all in the same frame looking decent lol). I have done a couple of quilts and do home/house stuff here and there. Just recovered a chair for my master bathroom. So a little of everything. I am debating getting the embroidery module for my machine but I’m not convinced I would use it enough to justify the cost yet…. Let me know if you like yours.

      • My machine came with lots of embroidery stitches already programmed into it, but I’m not sure I’ll be using them much. Time will tell. All the best with the costume, and the family photo – we know how challenging those can be!! Thanks for following my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

