jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Postage Stamp Quilt Swap 2013: #1

2 Comments

In my last post I talked about building up my stash of quilting fabrics, so I could participate in the Postage Stamp Quilt Swap taking place this month.

I’m going to be using 2 1/2″ squares, and had just begun cutting when I thought I should re-check the instructions for the swap, just to make sure I was doing everything right. I came across this info on pre-washing… oh no, just as well I had only cut a few squares so far. I would really hate for someone on the other side of the world to sew my squares into their PSQ, and have them shrink or the colour run and ruin their quilt!! 😦

So I started again and hand-washed all the fabric I’d acquired recently, in several batches, around my work hours and other commitments. Its autumn here but we’re still having summer temps – mid-twenties C – so the fabric dried quickly. Then it was off to the ironing board, trim off the frayed bits and back to the cutting table – currently set up on the dining table to be more sociable – here’s hoping we don’t decide to invite people over for a meal this week. (Yes, we did – sorry Bryce!)

QuiltFabrics_Drying

Pre-washed fabric drying

QuiltFabrics_Ironing

Ironing

QuiltFabrics_Cutting

On the cutting table

QuiltFabrics_PSQ-squares

Some of the resulting 2 1/2″ squares

Have to go now, I have lots more squares to cut! 🙂

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

2 thoughts on “Postage Stamp Quilt Swap 2013: #1

  1. When fussy-cutting isn’t required, I stack a few fabrics to cut many at once. With a fresh blade and careful hand on the ruler, I can get 4-6 layers in there! Keep cutting! – Mary

Leave a Reply

