jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Stash Building

3 Comments

Mid-February, this announcement of an upcoming Postage Stamp Quilt Swap made me think seriously about acquiring some more fabric so I could participate. You can only do the newbie thing once and that was me in October last year; this time around I wanted to do a proper swap – but to do that I needed to have some ‘stash’ to share.

In late February we spent a few days in Napier, where I gained some inspiration from John’s sister Joan who is a quilter, and browsed two quilt shops she recommended: JJ’s Crafts in Greenmeadows and Patch & Quilt at Riverside Winery, Puketapu. Patch & Quilt was first on our list, and when we got there John decided to set up a folding chair under some shady trees in the parking area and work on his i-Pad, telling me to take my time and buy / spend whatever I liked – dangerous talk! Rachel at Patch & Quilt was amused when I told her, and tried to sell me a new sewing machine, but I resisted the temptation and only bought fabric. When I reappeared outside after more than an hour, John’s response was ‘You spent what?!’ Tongue-in-cheek of course, as I’d been quite restrained! Well I thought so anyway. 😉

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_1

Fat eighths and tenths (?) from Patch and Quilt

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_2

Tenths in blue

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_5

Pretty patterns

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_6

Eighths in red and brown

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_7

Multicoloured eighths

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_4

Eighths in green

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_3

Eighths in brown

QuiltFabrics_Patch-and-Quilt_8

Last but not least – eighths in pink, yellow, green & blue

Then we headed to JJ’s and I found more to my liking, picking up several colourful fat quarters.

QuiltFabrics_JJs

Fat quarters from JJ’s

After we got home from Napier I visited the local Spotlight store, looking for novelty fabrics for another project (more to come on this later).

NoveltyFabrics_Spotlight

Novelty prints from Spotlight

Joan had already started my collection of novelties by donating these bits from her stash.

NoveltyFabrics_Joan

Novelty prints from Joan

When I’m free on Tuesday mornings, I’ve been going along to a ladies patchwork group that a friend from camera club invited me to. Last week they had arranged an outing to visit some quilt shops in our area. We started at Village Fabrics, Te Puna, where I did my beginner’s quilting class last year, then moved on to Patches & Cream in Paeroa and had lunch at the Courtyard Cafe. Then we headed back by way of Cushlas Village Fabrics in Waihi and Katipatch in Katikati, finishing at Te Puna and then home. I was still keeping my eyes open for novelty fabrics as I wanted around 60-80 different ones, but also had the PSQ swap in mind. Every shop had different goodies on display so it wasn’t difficult to spend some money in each!

QuiltFabrics_Paeroa

Fat quarters from Patches and Cream

NoveltyFabrics_CushlasWaihi

Fat quarters from Cushlas Village Fabrics

NoveltyFabrics_Katipatch

Fabrics from Katipatch (0.3m each)

NoveltyFabrics&Border_TePuna

Novelty fabrics and probable border from Village Fabrics

This was more than enough to be going on with. John’s comment when I showed off my purchases – ‘You’re really good at picking colours. I wish you were as good at sewing!’ 😉

Watch this space…

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

3 thoughts on “Stash Building

  1. Beautiful colors! I have some of the green fabrics in my quilting stuff downstairs. It is quite delicious!

    Good luck on the stash swap. 🙂

    Naia.

  2. Pingback: Postage Stamp Quilt Swap 2013: #1 | jaydogblog

Leave a Reply

