jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Moving On

1 Comment

The following words are from a song that I found encouraging and meaningful a few years ago, when I was a new wife & step-mum. I heard it again recently and it still applies, though in different ways. It seemed appropriate to the start of a new year.

It’s time to open up the memories of your past
And its time to move on
It’s time to open up the shadows of your heart
And it’s time to move on

Cause it’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted
It’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted on

It’s time to open up and shed a little light
On your soul
Cause the box you put your heartache in got
Lost or swept out to sea
Now it’s time just to move on

Cause it’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted
It’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted on

It’s a long long road to carry on
I’ve got to stand up and be counted on
It’s a long long road and I’ve got to be strong.

It’s a long long road to carry on
I’ve got to stand up and be counted on
It’s a long long road and I’ve got to be strong.

It’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted
It’s a great time to live and it’s time to
Stand up and be counted on

It’s a long long road to carry on
I’ve got to stand up and be counted on
It’s a long long road and I’ve got to be strong

It’s a long long road and I’ve got to be strong.

(Lyrics from ‘Stand Up’ by The Feelers – click on the link to see a video)

Several years ago we saw this group perform live, along with others – it was a good night.

The Feelers in concert #1

The Feelers in concert – lead singer

The Feelers in concert #2

Silhouetted musician

… But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”
Phillipians 3.13-14

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

One thought on “Moving On

  1. Pingback: One Word « jaydogblog

Leave a Reply

