jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Sunday Inspiration, 9th December 2012

2 Comments

Today’s first encouraging thought comes from Melissa Little’s blog The Inner Beauty of a Restless Heart. Melissa’s post ‘Don’t Worry. Be Happy’ struck a chord with me so I asked permission to quote her.

“If you have the mental power to imagine greater things for yourself, you also have the power to make it reality”.

So instead of looking at your life and feeling discouraged because you’re not where you want to be (and like me, you may think you’ll never get there), take responsibility for your life, make some changes and move towards your goals. If you can imagine it, you can make it happen. With God’s help, as John rightly reminded me.

Of course I’m preaching to myself here! 😉

For me the list of things that need to be done (or that I want to do) often becomes overwhelmingly long. This causes a lot of stressful emotions and makes it difficult to even get started. Then I’m really hard on myself for procrastinating, not getting things done, and not reaching the standards I set for myself…

So I was also encouraged recently by another blog post ‘All or nothing, or somewhere in between’ on setting small goals, rather than larger ones which are unattainable in the time frame available. Thanks to Helen of ‘Being, Nothingness and 1000 quilt blocks’ for these words of wisdom from your own experience.

I guess it’s all about priorities, time management, little steps, staying focused and being kind to myself.

What should my priorities and goals be, though? How do I know I’m following the right path for my life?

Today I was reminded of these verses from Proverbs 3. 5-6: ‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. Acknowledge Him in all your ways and He will direct your paths.’

Now to put it all into practice. 🙂

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Inspiration, 9th December 2012

  1. A good friend of mine constantly reminds me to not worry about the ‘how’ of things. In all honestly it does make things less stressful. Instead of wondering ‘how’, just try to remain focused on the end result that you are wanting. I too believe that God will steer you in the right direction even if that direction leads to some obstacles along the way. It’s all a learning experience and it can only make you stronger. Whatever path you have chosen, I’m sure that it will be the right one just for you. 🙂

    x melissa little

Leave a Reply

