jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Want to Hear Something Funny?

5 Comments

This week I came across a blog post titled ‘The Hilarity of Real Spam’ by Marsha of Streaming Thoughts: a great critique of the English language skills of spammers. I responded by saying I received very little spam and posted the one example I’d received recently and not yet deleted. “You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it.” Haha – this was on my post about swarming bees (Fake Rain).

I also (stupidly?) commented that I was looking forward to receiving more funny spam. Well apparently ‘they’ were listening, because today there were no less than 40 waiting for me when I checked in to WordPress!

The majority of them were complimentary but had absolutely no relevance to the post or photo they were commenting on. Such as ‘Rattling fantastic info can be found on this web site’, ‘I love your rich post. brilliant contribution. I hope you produce others. I will continue watching’‘Good Morning, I just stopped by to visit your blog and thought I’d say thanks for having me’, and on my post Bees in my Bonnet ‘A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I do believe that you ought to publish more on this issue, it might not be a taboo subject but usually people do not talk about these issues. To the next! Cheers!!’

However this one, on my Friday Focus: Agfa Isoly post, really got me: ‘Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it won’t disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read, however I actually thought you would probably have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something that you can fix if you weren’t too busy seeking attention.’ !!! I’m surprised my husband didn’t hear me laughing from the other room!

To the next! Cheers!! 😀

***

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

5 thoughts on “Want to Hear Something Funny?

  1. Too, too funny! Too bad you couldn’t write anything interesting!!! Who says things like that anyway?? 🙂

  2. I have had some of the same. At first I wasn’t sure about it being spam until I answered one.

    • Hi Debbie, what happened after you answered it? The ones I received were very obviously spam (apart from the fact they were in the spam folder) because most were from the same two or three people, were repetitive, written badly, and weren’t relevant to anything they were supposedly commenting on.

Leave a Reply

