jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Treasures in the Post

8 Comments

The first ‘charm squares’ aka ‘treasures’ arrived in the post yesterday…

Although I’d signed up for newbie gifts in the Postage Stamp Quilt Swap on The Curious Quilter last month, this package came from Marsha of Streaming Thoughts as a special prize for being observant. 🙂

Charm squares #1

Thanks heaps Marsha! There was a lovely combination of colours and patterns in this package. 🙂

Now it’s a case of waiting patiently for the others to arrive. I was surprised to receive emails from not one, but three other quilters who will be sending me 2 1/2″ squares of fabric. One is from the USA, one from Sweden and the third from Mauritius. I’ve been warned that one at least could take a few weeks to get here.

For those who, like me, had never heard of Postage Stamp Quilts before, an internet search will show up plenty of links.

I’m not sure yet what I will make (although am leaning towards a larger quilt). When I have completed my Made with Love quilt I’ll cut up some squares from the leftovers to add to the collection.  I’m hoping to have enough of a ‘stash’ to be promoted from ‘newbie’ to ‘swapper’ next year.

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

8 thoughts on “Treasures in the Post

  1. How much fun is that going to be. I am going to check this out.

    • Hi Debbie, I think they are going to hold another one or two swaps next year. The October one was the 4th this year (I missed the others). The Curious Quilter has a section on Postage Stamp quilts, and there are lots of other great links to tutorials and designs on the internet too. Let me know how you go!

  2. Pingback: Treasures from Around the World « jaydogblog

  3. You are going to have lots of fun! I put together a few 9 patch pot holders for Christmas presents in just a few hours. Of course, now I have to bind them. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Looking Back / Looking Ahead « jaydogblog

  5. Pingback: Last of the Treasures « jaydogblog

Leave a Reply

