jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Talking When I Should Be Working

9 Comments

Over the last couple of days I’ve discovered how exciting it is to become part of the blogging (in particular, quilting) online community.

I’ve started taking more time to like, comment and follow other people’s blogs that interest me. There are some great blogs out there – creative, inspirational, funny…

People have been embarrassingly complimentary about my quilting and writing efforts (me – talented? are you serious?). One of them even invited me to join a circle of appreciation for the rest of the month (thanks Marsha Lee!). A great idea, but unfortunately not something I can do justice to at the moment.

I put my name into the draw for a quilting book giveaway, and signed up for a ‘newbie’ fabric swap for postage stamp quilts on the Curious Quilter here. I had never heard of those (PSQ’s) before, so the learning curve continues!

Now I’m getting myself into trouble as I take time to comment and respond to comments on my own and other’s blogs. I’m ‘talking’ instead of working. There are other things I should be doing. And my husband is feeling left out! Oops!

Back to work… πŸ™‚

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

9 thoughts on “Talking When I Should Be Working

  1. I know what you mean! If I’m not checking the computer, I’m checking my phone and/or my Kindle. Blogging and interacting with others is so much fun. I love having ‘pen pals’ from across the world right here in my own living room. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Melissa, I do too. Its great to get to know others in other parts of the world, and learn about their lives. But as my husband reminds me, I have to come back to the ‘real world’ regularly to deal with my responsibilities here, and not neglect the flesh & blood relationships (the one I live with!)

  2. You are wise to keep your priorities straight. We bought a big table for the office so that my husband and I can have our computers across from each other. That way we can read/blog together and yet separately, and share with each other as the spirit moves. πŸ™‚

    • Getting the priorities right is a challenge! Its easy to get caught up in what’s happening online and lose track of time. At the moment our computers are in adjoining rooms, so if we want to share something one of us has to get up and walk into the other room. The intention was to have both computers in a small home office area. We’ll get there eventually!

      • We were in different rooms for a long time, then I moved to the dining room table, and so did he. We liked it so well that we moved our old office furniture to a spare bedroom, and changed our office into a library with a large table, and that is OUR office now. We love it.

  3. I can relate. Love your blog.

  4. I can relate to this! And Love your writing! Just discovered you, and looking forward to discovering more about your quilting- found you via our Marsha Lee. Many smiling cheers,

    Autumn Jade

    • Thanks! Your comment was much appreciated today, as I’ve been going through a patch of ‘what do I have to say that anyone would be interested in?’ I will keep on with the blogging and hope to have another progress report on the quilt soon. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

