jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Colours and Patterns II

5 Comments

Here are a few more colours and patterns from the recent Quilt Show that inspired me, and you too I hope.

This selection features more pastels and subdued colours, and includes the two quilts Melva (a member of my quilting class) drew to my attention.

‘Fabric Bouquet’ made and quilted by Trish Souness (and on the right, ‘Sisterhood’ also by Trish Souness)

‘Fabric Bouquet’ detail

‘Sisterhood’ detail

‘Floral Fanfare’ made and quilted by Jenni Scott – this one’s for you, Melva.
A Japanese style quilt; machine pieced, hand appliquéd and hand quilted. I was unaware of the work that had gone into this until it was pointed out to me and I took a closer look. Impressive.

‘Floral Fanfare’ detail

‘For The Love Of Brown’ made by Denise Lee, quilted by Julie Cannon – this one’s for Melva too.
I liked the limited yet varied color range. The materials were textured which gave it more depth and interest.

‘For The Love Of Brown’ detail

‘Colours Of The Murray’ (detail) – made by Helen McKeown, quilted by Trish Wharry.
From fabric bought in the Barossa Valley while holidaying down the Murray River.

‘Squirrel’s Retreat’ made and quilted by Lynda Warn

‘Squirrel’s Retreat’ detail

‘Journey of a Quilter’ (detail) – made and quilted by Jill McCoy.
I liked the mix of pretty fabrics and stitched messages on this one.

‘Journey of a Quilter’ detail #2

‘Twisted Ivy’ made and quilted by Joan Waterson

‘Twisted Ivy’ detail

‘Celebration’ made and quilted by Joan Waterson

‘Celebration’ detail

‘Made with Love’ (detail) – made by Maureen Cox, quilted by Sandra Bentley.
As this is the pattern we’re currently following, I was interested to see yet another unique version, this one using soft and gentle colours.

This was the second of two posts on the Quilt Show (‘Quilts-a-Plenty’) held last month. The first part can be found here: Colours and Patterns

Now, back to working on my own quilt…!

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

5 thoughts on “Colours and Patterns II

  1. Reblogged this on WordPress Report.

  2. I love your blog. I think you have what it takes to be a really great blogger. I want to invite you to a Circle of Appreciation. This is not an award, but simply an appreciation of what you are doing, and a chance for you to participate in appreciating your favorite people as well. See my blog for details. http://wp.me/p2jC53-IB.

  3. So much inspiration here, thank you!

Leave a Reply

