jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Colours and Patterns

1 Comment

A couple of weekends ago I attended another quilt show – two in a month, could be dangerous! 😉

This one was held in my own city, only a few minutes drive from home.  Again I was inspired by the multitude of colours, patterns, and styles on display by local quilt makers. I took the little Nikon Coolpix camera with a spare set of batteries – just as well as I soon had to change to the new set, then used those up too! This time I was more organised and photographed the cards stating the title & author (creator) of each quilt that attracted my attention. Many of these told a story about the creation of the quilt, who it was made for etc, which made interesting reading. I bumped into a few people I knew, and chatted to a few others I didn’t – some like me were relatively new to quilting, and others had done it for years.

One of the members of my quilting class was also visiting the exhibition, and drew my attention to some quilts she particularly liked. This helped me appreciate different styles and colour combinations, which I may not have looked at closely otherwise.

As I was leaving another member of my class was arriving, and said she had left a bored husband waiting in the car, telling him she’d be an hour or two!

‘Selvage Fun’ made by Alison Honeyfield, quilted by Sandra Bentley – made from the fabric edge strips (selvages)

‘Selvage Fun’ detail

‘Jacob’s Ladder’ made and quilted by Karen Livingstone

‘Jacob’s Ladder’ detail

‘Perfectly Paisley’ made and quilted by Jenni Scott – I gave this my People’s Choice vote

‘Perfectly Paisley’ detail

‘Black & White Jelly’ made and quilted by Viv Heimann – from ‘Jelly Roll Inspirations’ by Pam & Nicky Lintott

‘Black & White Jelly’ detail

‘H B Stars’ made by Jill McCoy, quilted by Deidre Sadd – mostly made during a Hawkes Bay retreat

‘H B Stars’ detail

‘Fun Fusion’ (detail) – made and quilted by Nan Hawker

‘Scatter Sunshine Forever’ (detail) – made and quilted by Jenni Baxter

‘Broken Hearted’ (detail) – made and quilted by Pat Heslop

‘Quilted Village’ made by Sue Harris, quilted by Jenny Allen

‘Illusion’ (detail) – made by Rosemary Hancett, quilted by Keitha Ladyman

More to come!

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

One thought on “Colours and Patterns

  1. Reblogged this on WordPress Report.

Leave a Reply

