jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Friday Focus: Agfa Isoly

1 Comment

This week I’m featuring the Agfa Isoly.

Like the Diana it photographs in square format. While researching this one on the internet recently, I discovered it may have been used as the model for the Diana! They are certainly very similar in looks, though I think the Isoly has it over the Diana in quality of images.

The Camera:

Agfa Isoly – front view

Rear view – with red window for viewing the film frame number

Front view showing apertures and shutter speeds

Camera base showing back release

The Stats:

Camera Name: Agfa Isoly
Where Made: Germany
Year of Production: 1960 onwards
Serial Number: Possibly 1101 / 56348 / 16 as theses numbers are marked inside the camera back.
Film Type / Neg Size: Takes 16 4×4 cm frames on 120 (medium format) film.
Lens: Achromat
Shutter: unmarked
Shutter Speeds: B, 1/30, 1/100 sec
Apertures: f8, f11
Exposure Meter: none
Focusing: set distance manually, no rangefinder. 1m / 3.5ft – infinity.

The Photos:

These few photos were taken some time ago. I have more recent ones but they will have to wait for another time, as my scanner is sadly not working at the moment – I’ve had it away to be fixed and am hoping for good news soon!

Beach

Wharf and swimmer

Tugboat

Click on the links below for my previous posts on vintage cameras:

Friday Focus: Introduction

Friday Focus: Empire Scout

Friday Focus: Diana

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

One thought on “Friday Focus: Agfa Isoly

  1. Pingback: Agfa Isoly I Review : The camera that launched a 1000 clones | Canny Cameras

Leave a Reply

