jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Out On My Own

Leave a comment

A beginner no more – I’m out on my own now!

It’s a month since our last class and I’ve made slow progress, having finally finished the ‘Made with Love’ Quilt Block #5 just a couple of days ago.

This block was more of a challenge because it involved three words. The original Wildcraft Farm pattern uses ‘Beauty / Smitten / Pleasure’ but I have changed them to ‘Love / Joy / Peace’. This is a reference to the Bible verses describing the Fruit of the Spirit in Galatians 5.22, all things we would like to have more of for a stronger marriage relationship.

There was a bit of fiddling around getting the words sized correctly for the spaces they were allocated. I briefly wondered if I might have to make those spaces smaller and re-design the whole block – but that sounded too much like hard work, for someone who is really still a beginner!

There were also two appliqué panels to sew, and another series of small strips to put together. Again, getting the measurements exact was tricky – it only takes a tiny amount of inaccuracy per seam to make the finished block noticeably too big or small. There was some frustration involved but I got there in the end!

The fiddly bits – stitching, appliqué panels and strips – took me ages to finish, but I loved the speed with which the block came together once they were done.

While putting the block together, I suddenly realised I didn’t have enough of the green ‘squaring-up border’ fabric to complete the whole twelve blocks. When I visited the quilt shop to buy some more they had just sold the last of it… but I was able to get some other fabric in a very similar colour, so decided to mix and match them throughout the quilt. After all it is a ‘scrappy’ quilt so I can get away with this, and tell you all it was planned from the beginning! 🙂

Quilt block #5 stitchery and appliqué

Block #5 with borders added

The completed block with squaring-up borders (just needs a stem stitched on the flower!)

Here’s to some faster progress in the near future!

The Quilt Project – progress so far:

1 – Beginnings

2 – Quilting Lesson #1

3 – Attempts at Appliqué

4 – Words

5 – Quilting Lesson #2

6 – Words II – To The Bride & Groom

7 – Appliqué  Again

8 – Quilting Lesson #5 / Words III

9 – Quilting Lesson #6 / Words IV

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

Leave a Reply

