jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Quilting Lesson #6 / Words IV

Leave a comment

Our final beginners quilting class was held more than a week ago – I find it hard to believe the course has finished already. There will be one last get-together for our small group at the end of August, when our tutor will give us some instruction on putting the blocks together and finishing the quilt. Meanwhile we are welcome to attend a Thursday afternoon stitching group if we would like to – this is just an opportunity to meet with others over a cuppa and work on whatever project we have underway, either machine or hand-stitching.

I still have lots to learn – for example how best to finish off my blocks so the back is neat, not a mess of cotton threads! – and there is room for improvement in my appliqué stitching skills.

I was feeling encouraged at the last class, even though I haven’t progressed as quickly as I would have liked to, having only made it to the fourth block. I’ve tried a couple of things to ensure the blocks end up the right size, and have decided to sew the 1/4″ seams a little smaller – along with checking the measurements very carefully as I go, this seems to be working well. It was a challenge sewing the eight small strips together and ending up with the correct size – would you believe I over-corrected to start with and made them too big! I had to re-sew the seams, and compromised by making the two end strips smaller than the others. I also had difficulty getting some of the other seams straight, so I admit there was some unpicking and re-doing to get the (near) perfect result you see below. 😉

I’ve unpicked the stem stitch words on the previous blocks, and am replacing them with back stitch; unfortunately it takes some concentration on my part to get the stitches really straight, which makes it difficult to do while watching TV or when tired, so I’m making slow progress.

Block #4 uses the word ‘cuddle’ and I have left this unchanged, as its something we like to do. 🙂

Quilt Block #4 – First appliqué panel

Second appliqué panel

Quilt Block #4 – stitched word

Appliqué & Stitchery

The completed block

The Quilt Project – progress so far:

1 – Beginnings

2 – Quilting Lesson #1

3 – Attempts at Appliqué

4 – Words

5 – Quilting Lesson #2

6 – Words II – To The Bride & Groom

7 – Appliqué  Again

8 – Quilting Lesson #5 / Words III

More to come!

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

Leave a Reply

