jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Lens on the World

Leave a comment

We have been very busy lately with work, travel, editing photos from the Napier hairdressing competitions, and helping Kelly and Levi shift again (their last place was damp & cold) … so there has been little time for blogging, quilting, housework, updating our camera club website, or time out in general.

Today its raining here and I’m having a catch-up with some of those things.

On Sunday the weather was cold but fine, and we headed out in the afternoon to see the Brian Brake exhibition ‘Lens on the World’ at the local Art Gallery. He was a New Zealand photographer who worked for the Magnum photo agency, and travelled and photographed in the UK and Europe, Russia, China, India, South-East Asia, the Middle East and of course New Zealand. The exhibition had a mix of colour and B&W images, and a range of subjects from landscape to photojournalism and portraits.

As we left I felt encouraged to try my hand again at photojournalism / social documentary / street photography. It’s a challenge to capture people interacting with one another and record daily life in an interesting way. I need to get out more with my camera – and be braver!

If you get the chance to see this exhibition, I highly recommend it, as the images I found online don’t do justice to the actual prints.

Lens on the World / Wikipedia on Brian Brake / Te Papa (Museum of New Zealand) on Brian Brake

Here are some of my favourites from the exhibition, courtesy of the Te Papa website (click on image for a larger version):

India: Flower Seller / Gathering Dyed Cloth / Steel Mill / Kashmir, India

New Zealand: Castlepoint Races at Wairarapa / Sheep Mustering / Milford Sound / Sheep Farm

Australia: Sydney / Tamarama Beach, Sydney / Surfboats / Hawkesbury River

China: China

Japan: Subway, Tokyo / Sanzen-in Temple

Middle East: Camel Rider

Roman Empire: Hadrians Wall / Temple

Drop me a line if you’ve seen the exhibition, and let me know what you think.

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

Leave a Reply

