jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Words II: To The Bride & Groom

2 Comments

Three years ago today, we organised a celebration in honour  of my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. As we were planning the day, it occurred to me I should make a speech, as the oldest of their five children, and one of only two who were able to attend. It was an emotional time as my parents are getting older now and I appreciated that they were still around to see John & I married (my Dad walked me up the aisle in 2005 at the age of 81), and also that they were still together, when the divorce stats are so high. This was part of my speech:

It’s my priviledge to be able to celebrate my parent’s 50th wedding anniversary with them today.

Mum & Dad, we honour you for this achievement in a world where (if I have the correct stats) approx 50% of marriages now end in divorce. Having been married myself not 4yrs yet, I realize that it’s hard work sometimes, but definitely worth it. I’m blessed to be married to a man who treats my parents as though they were his own, and has played a huge part in organising today.

I’m also speaking on behalf of my brothers (…) and their wives and families who would be here if they could to honour you today. We thank you and appreciate you for the love, time, effort, & resources you have put into all of us over the years, and the example your marriage relationship has set for us.

Thankyou to those who have helped us in practical ways to make today a good one …

Thankyou to everyone who has come to join with us in celebrating today, some of you have travelled far and we appreciate your effort. It’s been a great opportunity for us to catch up with friends & family. 

… I would like to propose a toast to Mum & Dad. Please raise your glasses.

To the bride & groom…

When we asked them to what they attributed the length of their marriage, Dad paused for a moment, then said he thought it was due to the fact they loved each other.

50th Anniversary Wedding Cake
(photo by Bryce)

Although I had little formal preparation for marriage, I could liken it to my career – it hasn’t always been easy but I have persevered because its what I wanted to do long-term. Commitment helps you get over the short-term difficulties because you are looking at the big picture of the future.

The stitchery for the second block of my Made with Love quilt is now complete. The original quilt used the word Devotion, and I have replaced this with Commitment.

Happy 53rd Anniversary, Mum & Dad!

Second Word
Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

2 thoughts on “Words II: To The Bride & Groom

  1. Your story is touching, and your attitude is awesome! You will probably be one of the VERY few couples that makes it to 50 years. It is NOT easy EVEN when you love each other. Many people don’t even live long enough to make it to 50.

Leave a Reply

