jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Quilting Lesson #2

3 Comments

I attended my second quilting lesson last week, and find it hard to believe I’m a third of the way through the course already!

In Lesson #2 we were challenged to cut and sew straight lines. You have to be pretty exact with cutting to size and sewing 1/4″ seams. Its funny how at least one other member of my small class also has problems figuring out which way round to place the ruler and cutter on the material. I think its a spatial thing – the same problem women supposedly have with maps, where you have to turn the map around to face the way you’re travelling… 😉 Anyway I think I finally have it worked out. Just as well, as there is a lot more cutting to be done.

This week our tutor likened the blocks to a jigsaw puzzle, as you have to sew the pieces together in a certain order so they fit together correctly.

After some sewing homework, here is Block #1 – in three stages. There are some imperfections, which I won’t point out – suffice to say I’m learning from my mistakes! 🙂

Each of the twelve blocks is unique, but the borders and ‘squaring-up’ borders will be the same for each one.

Quilt Block #1

Quilt Block #1 with borders

Block #1 complete with squaring-up borders

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

3 thoughts on “Quilting Lesson #2

  1. Quilting is one of the few things that’s kept me semi-sane, and I love to design them. My biggest project in years was also the most meaningful: making a quilt for our beloved Doctor Bob. It’s set into what’s supposed to look like a Mariner’s Compass, and the center appliqued section is up on my blog under the heading “Unconquerable.”

Leave a Reply

