jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Words

Leave a comment

I had wanted to sew my Made with Love quilt as much like the original as possible. I’m using the same colour scheme (but that’s because I like it, and thought the hearts needed to be red). However my eyes are being opened to lots of other colour possibilities – each one of us in the class is using a different palette and they all look great.

I had also planned to use the same stitched words as the original – it hadn’t occurred to me to change them. Then Vivianne – the friend who is doing the class with me – shared how she was choosing different words, words that meant something personally to her husband and herself. I started to think about this. What words could I use that were more meaningful to John & I on our quilt? I read the verses in 1 Corinthians 13 (the ‘love chapter’) about what love is, and the verses in Galatians 5 which talk about the Fruit of the Spirit. How could I incorporate some of these into the quilt? I also talked with John about some other (positive!) words that either described our relationship now, or were qualities we aimed for. We have been married almost seven years, and it hasn’t always been easy.

One of the qualities we have, and would like to have increase in our relationship is a sense of humour. The first block ‘Rapture’ then became ‘Laughter’.

When I took my first stitched piece to last week’s class, I joked with the tutor that it was a good choice for the first word, as that’s what she would do when she saw the quality of my stitching! I really didn’t think it was very good – I could see all the crooked stitches – but had resisted the temptation to unpick it and start over. Our tutor looked surprised, and both she and my fellow quilters were complimentary about my piece. Maybe it was better than I thought!

Positive and encouraging words are important. We all need to give & receive them. 🙂

First Word

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

Leave a Reply

