jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Housework Day

2 Comments

After my first quilting lesson yesterday I was keen to get on with some stitching, but I’ve had a busy and social week and today the chores were lined up waiting up for me… dusting and vacuuming, mopping the tiled floors, cleaning the  ensuite, and about four loads of washing – great weather for getting it all dry on the line, just needs folding & putting away now. When browsing some quilting websites a while ago I kept coming across sayings like “Sewing forever, housework whenever” and now I’m beginning to understand!

We have a very noisy vacuum cleaner so I usually wear earmuffs while I’m using it – while doing the kitchen floor I suddenly thought I could hear music playing over the noise of the vacuum cleaner. Puzzled, I looked up to see where it was coming from. I had been playing some music on my computer while I was working earlier, but surely it hadn’t switched itself back on?!

The culprit was nodding his head and swaying his arms to a catchy Spanish tune…

The Singing Gorilla

My step-daughter and her husband have been living with us for a few months but will be moving out soon. While sorting out boxes a few days ago she came across this character – apparently my husband and the kids bought him at a market somewhere years ago. She popped in a new battery and now he responds to a loud clap or click of the fingers – and also to our vacuum cleaner!!

Guaranteed to shift a bad mood and bring a smile to the face…

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

2 thoughts on “Housework Day

  1. Yes I know what it’s like to come home & have so much waiting to be done!! It’s fun to spend time with people you care about too. We need to do that more often.

Leave a Reply

