jaydogblog

my life in the land down under

Beginnings

4 Comments

Question to the family – “Don’t laugh… but I’m going to start writing a blog. What do you think I should call it?” (laughter follows.. but also some good suggestions). Counter question, “What is it going to be about?” Well, it was originally intended to be a record of the quilt project (more on that later) but that seemed too narrow. It would be good to write on other things too as they came to mind. So, a bit of photography, family life, work maybe; we’ll see where it leads. And sometime in the future we hope to travel, and blog and photograph as we go, so this will be good practice. (Kelly, I’m not sure if I spelled that correctly).

Some time later… “If it takes you that long to think up a good tag-line, how are you going to write a blog post?!” Yes I struggled with the tagline and still don’t like it but I had to put something.

Anyway this is the beginning of the blog; the beginning of the quilt project; almost the beginning of my three weeks leave from work (its actually day 3 already). I had a cuppa with my sister this morning and a good chat (we live in the same town but are both busy and don’t see much of each other), and I’m hopeful this is the beginning of a better relationship with her. The beginning of a sort-out in the house and getting rid of a bunch of stuff we don’t need that is cluttering up the place and costing us $$ in storage fees – at least my husband is hopeful that I’ll make some good progress on this over the next few weeks.

Back to the quilt. In short, at the beginning of March a friend & I had been on a photography outing and were heading to a cafe for lunch. We ‘by chance’ parked outside a craft shop and went in to have a look. They were advertising a beginners quilting class with a bit of appliqué and stitchery thrown in, the quilt called ‘Made with Love’ as designed by Wildcraft Farm was hanging on the wall inspiringly. We both put our names down for the class, me knowing basically nothing about quilting, though have always appreciated those who do make them and would have loved to own one. Initial feelings of excitement were later replaced by panic as I realised how big the project really was and how much I had to learn! We eventually located the sewing machine which had been in storage for some time, had it serviced and I started to learn how to use it. Choosing the material to use for this ‘scrappy’ quilt was great fun (see I’m even learning the terminology), purchased a few necessary tools e.g. rotary cutter and cutting board, and basics like pins, needles & scissors, and the first class is tomorrow morning!

Photos to follow when I can figure out how to add them…

Tools of the Trade #1

Tools of the Trade #2

Quilt Materials #1

Quilt Materials #2

Quilt Materials #3

Success (I think!!) Now to publish…

Author: Janice

Married to a very lucky man (he sometimes agrees), I'm learning to be a better wife, homemaker, & step-mum to two adult children and their other halves. I enjoy thinking, writing, nature, travelling, reading, photography and other creative pursuits, and spending time with friends & family (not necessarily in that order). I work part-time with children & their families. I have too much stuff (working on that) and am not a morning person... that about covers it for now.

4 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. Your colors are fabulous. I love the fact that you are learning to blog and to quilt at the same time. So far, I would say you’ve got a great start on both!! I’m going to read the rest of your quilt story. “Camp out as Russel Ray Photos says on his blog.

    • Thanks! Both have involved a learning curve. Glad you like the colours. I would like to ‘camp out’ and read more of others blogs but have to balance it with other things that also need doing. It has been noted in this household that the blog thing is quite time-consuming!

  2. Wow! You just started the quilting, and blogging at the same time! When I first saw the blog, and it was about quilting, I thought ‘well, the only thing I know about that is that I like quilts’… but then I clicked on the link Beginnings… this was only in May! The colours in the material are so beautiful… I couldn’t even sew in a button and make it look decent..

    • Thanks Rebekah, yes this is a double learning curve for me! We have a shared interest in photography, that’s how I came across your blog I think. It was this post that first caught my eye: http://colderweather.net/2012/06/03/dont-know-what-possessed-me/ – I liked the way you captured the water droplets on the flowers. My husband and I belong to the local camera club but don’t get to do enough personal photography – life, work etc gets in the way a bit!
      I’m glad you like quilts! I’m not a sew-er either so I thought I was being a bit crazy when I took on the quilt project. I have a new appreciation for them now and there are so many different styles. The blog is a way of recording my progress, but also has a mix of other stuff including photography and our interest in monarch butterflies (the season is just about to begin again as we have tiny caterpillars on our swan plants now).
      Thanks for visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

